top of page

chapter history

Theta Omega Omega Chapter was chartered in Montgomery County, Maryland, November 22, 1969, at the Sheraton Hotel in Silver Spring, Maryland, by 32 members under Regional Director Esther Pollard and International President Larzette Hale. Currently, the Chapter’s membership has grown to over 220 with four chartering members remaining active.


Twenty presidents have led the Chapter through a wide array of programs that focused on the Sorority’s national themes. In the 1970’s the focus was on chapter development, establishment of a scholarship program, initiating philanthropic efforts, and forming coalitions with other community and Greek-letter organizations. The Opal Ball and Fashionetta were developed and held for the first time in 1971, and 1976, respectively. Credit for the vision of Fashionetta goes to Freddye Davy, a charter member. From these two endeavors, the Chapter financed program efforts, including scholarship. As a member of the Montgomery County Pan Hellenic Council, Theta Omega Omega began to co-sponsor the annual bus tour to five HBCU’s – a worthwhile service through the years for African American students in Montgomery County. In the 1980’s with expanding resources and talents, and the Sorority’s “Power” and “Service with a Global Perspective” themes, the


Janice Bailey

Dorothy Baker

Louise Brown

Shirley Catalan

Marjorie Coleman

Shirley Daniels

Freddye Davy

Savannah Gibson

Agnes Gill

Jeannette Gray

Jewel Greer

Carol Harris

Yvonne Harris-Smith

Clara Harvey

Katie Hatchel

Neda Hawkins

Lois Hoston

Beulah Jackson

Cynthia Lawson

Mary Lyles

Catherine McKenzie

Dorothy Madison

Dora Martin

Lois Tyus Martin

Ortharea Pitts

Geneva Ruffin

Ann Walker

Loretta Webb

Sherene Webb

Nadine Williams

Jane Windrow

Sadie Yette

program offerings and community service projects were greatly expanded and began to impact on a more global level – locally, nationally, and internationally. In 1986, the $4000 Jane Windrow Memorial Scholarship began to be awarded to a student attending a Historically Black College or University, in support of the Sorority’s program focus. Through Africare, the Chapter adopted a well project in the Village of Tscheriba in Burkina Faso, Africa, and sponsored the first International Conference in Montgomery County. The Conference’s advisory represented by highly acclaimed persons in the international are including Ambassador Walter Carrington. In 1988, Theta Omega Omega hosted the Sorority’s North Atlantic Regional Conference in Crystal City, Virginia.

The 1990’s brought the establishment of five Ivy AKAdemies, 100% membership in the Educational Advancement Foundation, the establishment of Theta Omega Omega Charities, Incorporated (currently known as Ivy Vine Charities, Incorporated). History was made when Theta Omega Omega became a mentoring chapter of Mu Delta undergraduate chapter, located at George Washington University. In addition, the Lois Tyus Martin Undergraduate Assistance Fund was established to support the Mu Delta chapter members. Lastly, in keeping with technological advances of the time, the chapter created and instituted within its by-laws a technology committee, and created the chapter’s website.


Theta Omega Omega marked a new century with strength and endurance. Theta Omega Omega chapter instituted a Leadership Development Task Force, which trained membership about the tenets of the Sorority, and established a mentoring partnership between less seasoned and more seasoned members to serve as committee co-chairs. In addition, mentoring programs and reading initiatives were established at Wheaton High School and William Tyler Page Elementary School, as well as, ties were reestablished with local churches.


The Chapter’s history is rich and noteworthy, however; there is more work to be done in the community that the chapter membership will seek to support through its programmatic initiatives and activities.


Yvonne Harris Smith

Loretta Webb

Jeannette Austin Gray

Jean S. Hughes Windrow

Frances Brock

Marion Hayes Hull

Delores D. Willis

Johnnie C. Searcy

Valeria Anita Ford

Kimberly McLurkin-Harris

Donna Chatman Owens

Laura A. Wilkinson

Sharlyn A. Grigsby-Queen

Claudine McDonald

Blondie Awkard

Valerie Evans-Harrell

Anjelious P. Farmer

Angela Anglin

Pamela Monroe

Sharon V. Burrell

Michelle McNeil Gill

1969 - 1971

1972 - 1973

1973 - 1977

1978 - 1979



1986 - 1988

1989 - 1990

1991 - 1992

1993 - 1994

1995 - 1998

1999 - 2000

2001 - 2002

2003 - 2004

2005 - 2006

2007 - 2010

2011 - 2012

2013 - 2014

2015 - 2016

2017 - 2020

2021 - PRES

bottom of page